Admin Post: sohly’s Review of Crush

      The last time we ever heard a body of music from 2NE1 was in August 2011 with their 2nd mini-album. And the last time we got a full album was back in September 2010. During the last two years, we only got 4 singles. With YG delaying this comeback 9 times, we were beginning to wonder if we were ever going to get a proper comeback.

                Well, in mid-February 2014, we got an announcement. Something about an album coming out. Of course, I’m sure all Blackjacks were scratching and trying to hide their enthusiasm. After all, this is YG we’re talking about. He could very well have delayed their comeback. Then again, the girls had to tour and there was no way people were going to see them with only three new songs.

                This album Crush signaled a real comeback for 2NE1. And it signaled a turning point. Either this album would be something the public loved or something they didn’t care for. and after the hits (I Love You & Missing You) and misses, (Falling In Love, more or less and Do You Love Me) this had to the album of the year, so to speak. So did our girls do it? I’ll give you my personal review.

1. Crush*

Perfect way to start out the album. (Especially for those who thought the girls were losing their edge, so to speak. And if you did, shame on you!) That pulsating beat, and that refrain, “They love me cuz I’m hot, They love me cuz I’m cold, They love me cuz I’m real, They love me cuz I kill” will have you jamming along to it. And considering CL co-produced and wrote the lyrics to this song, I must say I’m quite impressed. The only complaint I have about the song is its length. Just when I start to really get into it, the song’s over.  But it’s still a good song.

2. Come Back Home

I’m loving this song. It’s a much more streamlined song for the girls. Or, at least that’s how it starts out. After the chorus, you’re in for quite a surprise with the dubstep breakdown. The mixture of R&B, reggae and dubstep really works on this song. Nothing sounds out of place or odd at all.

3. Gotta Be You*

I see why this chosen as one of the title tracks. It’s quite a catchy song. I love how it switches up from a more hip-hop sound to a dance sound in its transition from verse to chorus. Even though the sad lyrics contrast with such a beat, it still works. Who knew trying to get a lover back could sound like this?

4. If I Were You

Wow. I have no words for this song. I honestly didn’t know 2NE1 could pull off a song like this. (Although I always wanted to know if they could.) The instrumentals and the lyrics just go together. Not to mention the fact that the girls’ voices are showcased in this song. I love the emotion that can clearly be heard.

5. Good To You*

Just stunning. Such a sad song reflecting on a past lover’s new lover. It might be a stretch to say this, but I think this song might be the female counterpart to G-Dragon’s “That XX”. And considering the fact that he helped to write the song, it really gives me that vibe.

6. MTBD*

Ah, CL’s solo. Now, before I say anything, I must say I’m still a fan of CL’s first solo single “The Baddest Female”. I listen to it every once in a while. With that being said, “MTBD” takes everything to another level. And if “The Baddest Female” disappointed you, or if you doubt CL’s rap skills, then I encourage you to listen to this song right here! This should have been a single. This song has been on repeat since day on and let me tell you, CL did such a great job! She shines on this track. And this beat is sick! I see Teddy still has it.

7. Happy

For a song that is actually quite sad lyrically (wishing someone the best and letting someone go even though you don’t want to), this tune sounds quite like its name. It’s not a favorite of mine (don’t worry, I do like the song), but I can’t get it out of my head. You just can’t help but to sway to it.

8. Scream*

SCREAM! I loved this song, (and still do) even though it didn’t get too much attention from the Japanese audience. (This was released as 2NE1’s second single in Japan.) I think it sounds better in Korean! And I’m sure the fans who wanted to hear this in Korean are pretty happy right now. I know I am.

9. Baby I Miss You*

This song caught me by surprise. If only I knew 2NE1 had this up their sleeves! I love everything about this song. The R&B vibe is so strong, and our girls’ vocals mesh so well with the beat. Once again, I’m impressed with CL’s work on this song. (Co-producing and writing the lyrics.) This song shows our girls can be very feminine and sexy. (Now, I know what you’re thinking: 2NE1 doesn’t do sexy. Oh, how wrong you are! And this song proves it.) And who said the girls couldn’t pull off love songs?

10. Come Back Home (Unplugged Version)

Now, between this version and the normal version, I think I prefer this one. I love how the girls sound on this song, as well as the instrumentals. Everything on this song came together very well.

Overall, I believe 2NE1 released such a solid body of work. And apparently, a lot of people agree! (Those charts don’t lie.) Like I said before, this album was a turning point for 2NE1. And it definitely shows. They have matured with their music. But the songs, at the core, still feel like 2NE1’s songs. (They don’t feel like songs anybody else could sing.) Every song sounds different from the last, but they don’t clash and not one song feels out of place. If this is how 2NE1 starts out the year, then I can not wait to see what else they have in store for us. (Since YG did say we could expect to hear another album with some solo songs and a possible CL solo album. But I wouldn’t put it past him to make us wait another year or two until we hear it.) In the meantime, this album will be on repeat.

Rating: 9/10

*My personal favorites. (But I do like them all!)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.